top of page

The Intentional Pursuit of Sabbath


About two years ago I took some time to read the book “It’s Not What You Think” by Jefferson Bethke. A phenomenal book that completely changed how I viewed the gospel—but that’s not what this post is about. In this book, there was a chapter that discussed the meaning and importance of “Sabbath” – a familiar term in the Christian faith essentially referring to “a time to rest.”

I remember finishing that chapter as a ‘sophomore-but-junior-by-credits’ student in college and thinking “Wow. That sounds amazing. Too bad I don’t have time to rest without jeopardizing my goal of graduating a year early.” Which was partially true. My three year college career consisted of 18-21 credits every semester and 2 summer classes every year. My free time was usually spent getting ahead in my school work—which is why I graduated early. I thought I didn’t have any downtime, but when I did have a free moment I spent it with my boyfriend/fiancé/now husband, or binge-watching Grey’s Anatomy with my roommates.

I spent time reading the Bible and journaling fairly consistently (more or less), but in those days in college I so longed for a true “Sabbath”—and having served in ministry almost all of my teenage and young adult years, the traditional "Sunday Sabbath" wasn’t particularly the most restful.

As a now college graduate who works full time from home, I feel that I am on the other side of the crowded student life that I have been living the past three years. I now have lots of quiet time to rest and reflect and do things like finally start a blog. Though I am still in the beginning of formulating my own Sabbath, here are a few things I have concluded thus far.

 

SABBATH IS A TIME TO INTENTIONALLY DISCONNECT…

  • Here’s the most obvious way to disconnect: turn off your phone. Turn off the TV. Turn off the noise. I dare you. Or if none of these are possible or practical to do, then at least make an effort to eliminate the constant, anxiety causing noise that pours from our devices. I promise you’ll still have friends on Facebook even if you don’t post for a day.

  • Put away your to-do list. I am so guilty of spending my “down time” catching up on other work. Now, some things I find relaxing like working on projects, or even cleaning. But when your ‘day of rest’ turns into another day of work, though it be different from your usual work, you will still find yourself worn.

  • Put aside the homework. Friends, I get it. I was a student too. This is so hard. But obsessing over school work, or any work for that matter communicates to God that He is not the priority. I’ll just leave it with that.

SABBATH IS A TIME TO INTENTIONALLY RECONNECT…

  • First and foremost, the purpose of the Sabbath is to connect with God. This is where I went wrong so many times. I thought the Sabbath just meant “to stop working.” Which isn’t wrong per se, but it leaves off the most important phrase: “A time to stop working… with the intention of connecting with God.” This is the motivation.

  • Go out into nature. One of my personal favorite ways to connect with the Creator is in the quietness as I admire His creation. Go float the river, go hiking, watch the sunset, and stand in awe of how you see the Lord in even the smallest details of His handiwork.

  • Connect with those you love. It’s not a revolutionary idea that with the phones away and the TV off we have more intentional conversations and connect more deeply with those we love. Take time to reflect the relational character of the triune God by spending genuine time with friends and family.

  • Create. I mentioned before that I find it relaxing to work on projects in my downtime. Here’s where I tell you that your Sabbath doesn’t have to be you sitting alone by a lake for 5 hours until you fall over dead with boredom. With your mind quiet and focused on the Lord, be creative and productive as you will. I personally love painting or writing with worship music in the background. It’s meditative and peaceful.

SABBATH IS A TIME TO INTENTIONALLY RECHARGE…

Well I couldn’t leave this element out. Take time in your sabbath to genuinely and physically rest and recharge. Take a nap. Or, I love to do yoga as a way to slowly stretch my body and to breathe deeply. Take time to meditate on the Lord and reflect on the state of of your soul. And then get up and plan and prepare for the rest of your day or week or month.

 

Let me say here that this article only relays my own conclusions. I may write another post about the definition of Sabbath later, but for today, I write this to you for the purpose of transparency and encouragement.

I encourage you-- whether it be 1 hour or 24 hours; a Thursday night or a Sunday afternoon-- take the time to intentionally disconnect from the world, put aside your heavy spirit of ‘work’, and peacefully reconnect with the Lord.

Happy Sabbath, friends. Whenever that may be for you.

Comentarios


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page